Zamecke nam. 1264
738 01 Frydek-Mistek
Phone: 0658/200 51-3
The city's most significant historical monument is the Frydek Chateau on the steep Silesian bank of the Ostravice, originally built as a Gothic castle in the middle 14th century, was converted into a Renaissance chateau, and then transformed into a Baroque chateau in the 18th century. Between 1797 - 1918 it belonged to the Habsburgs, who made a number of classical alterations.The chateau now houses the Beskydy Regional Museum of regional folklore and permanent exhibitions rendering comprehensive pictures of life in this region and exhibitions on Leos Janacek and Silesian poet Petr Bezruc.
Near the castle there is the Baroque Church of the Virgin Mary, with Stations of the Cross paintings from the 18th century, as well as the Gothic Church of St. John the Baptist, which dates back to the 14th century and still retains its original Gothic core. Mistek features the Roccoco Church of St. John and St. Paul, the Baroque Church of All Saints and the oldest church in the area, the 13th century Church of St. James.
Around the squares of both towns, there is a number of old merchant's houses from the Renaissance and Baroque periods. The original castle of the princes of Tesin from the 10th century was rebuilt into a Renaissance manor at the end of the l6th century, and also went through many later adaptations. The Renaissance Church of St. Joyce (Sv. Jost) (from 1612) is surrounded by valuable baroque sculptures. The Lang House is a Classical building (1796) that is now used as the town art gallery.