Frydek - Mistek, the natural administrative and commercial center of the surrounding district, stands at the confluence of the Ostravice and Moravka Rivers. The history of the city is actually the city of two formerly independent towns. The older Mistek, the foundation of which dates from 1267, used to be on the Moravian side; Frydek, which is first mentioned between 1327 - 1333, was set on the Silesian side. The towns were connected administratively in 1943 and today the city has approximately 65,000 inhabitants.
Frydek - Mistek is an important transportation hub. A famous business route led through the city in the past and has evolved into the important, international E 462 Vienna-Brno-Krakow artery of today. The city's traditional role as district leader is supplemented by its cultural background, and it also serves as a suitable base for exploring the Beskydy Mountains.
The character of the city is influenced by the fact that both Frydek and Mistek grew as two separate cities until the second world war. Their identity since the middle of the last century as traditional craft trade centers has been influenced by the rapid development of industry in the district. However, Frydek - Mistek has maintained its authenticity and personality, shown most strongly by the newly-renovated historical centers of both old towns.
The most obvious artifact from the past is the Frydek Chateau
, which was originally a Gothic fortress (its current look dates from the 18th
century) and perches on the steep Silesian side of the Ostravice River. Today the castle houses exhibitions of the Beskydy Museum
It is necessary to point out other worthy monuments - especially those of a religious nature - which include the Cemetery Church of St. Jost
(ca. 1612), the Baroque Pilgrimage Church of the Virgin Mary and its "Stations of the Cross" paintings (18th
century), the Parish Church of St. John the Baptist (original sanctuary dating from the 1300's), the Gothic Church of St. Jacob (13th
century; reconstructed in the Baroque style),
and the Rococo Church of St. John and Paul. In addition to the bourgeois houses in close proximity to both town squares, other key secular sights of note are a number of public buildings that date from the beginning of this century and show the influence of Art Nouveau and other historical styles.
Today there are a number of annual cultural events held in the city: the Children's Folk Group Festival
, the Janacek's Lassko Musical Festival, and the "Singing Under the Linden" cycle presented in the castle park. The Beskydy Mountains also have a fine selection of recreational activities year-round.
The Frydek - Mistek area also features the Hukvaldy Castle, the wooden church in Sedliste, and a number of examples of valuable folk architecture.
There are numerous historical buildings here, witnessing complex historical development of Frydek and Mistek. The most noted dominant of the town is the castle in Frydek. Today it is housing the Ethnographical Institute and the district museum. At the town square we can see the fountain and the cast iron statue of St. Florian
. The old houses beneath the castle form a picturesque western part of the old square. The old buildings in Hluboka Street represented a unique architectonic collection, unfortunately they did not survive.
Very interesting, as to its historical point of view, is also an old baroque roadside inn Na Vesele, the memorial tablet of which commemorates the stay of the Russian commanders Suvorov and Kutuzov in the years 1800 and 1805. A visitor will be captivated by baroque burgess buildings with arcades in the busy Mistek square and as well as the church of St. John and Paul or the statue "Funeral in Carpathian Mountains"
by sculptor Stursa.
Besides the massive castle tower, the panorama of the town is shaped also by the local churches towers. Their interior decorations, not unfrequently of high artistic value, are property of the town cultural fund. In addition to historically the oldest buildings of St. Joshua's, John Baptist's, and James' Churches, there can be seen also several younger baroque buildings here.
Such famous sculptors, as for example, Jan Stursa, Ladislav Saloun, Frantisek Uprka, and Jindrich Wielgus contributed their works on an artistic decoration of the town.